May 20, 2024

The Senate has constituted the 1999 Constitution Amendment Committee, the News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) reports.

President of the Senate, Godswill Akpabio, announced the composition of the committee at plenary on Wednesday.

Akpabio stressed the need for the Senate to look at some aspects of the Constitution to bring it in line with current realities, based on observations that needed to be put right.

He said that the committee, which had one senator from each state and one from each geo-political zone of the country, would be inaugurated on Feb. 20.

Members of the committee, according to Akpabio, include Sen. Jubrin Barau, Deputy President of the Senate (as Chairman); Sen. Opeyemi Bamidele (Senate Leader (as Vice Chairman); Senators Abba Morro, Onyekachi Nwaebonyi Yisa Oyetola, Osita Ngwu and Alli Ndume.

Other members are: Senators Sani Hanger, Enyinnaya Abaribe, Francis Fadahunsi, Binos Yaro, Ifeanyi Uba, Abdul Ningi, Ned Nwoko, Orji Kalu, Adamu Aliero, Sieraki Dickson, Osita Izunaso, Jaribe Agom, Adams Oshomole, Danjuma Goje, Maduri Abdulhamid, Ibrahim Khalid, Sani Rufai and Yahaya Abdulahi.

The committee also has Natasha Akpoti, Adebura Oluranti, Godiya Akwasheki, Sani Musa, Adeola Solomon and Solomon Lalong as members.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *