April 15, 2024

Governor Ahmed Aliyu of Sokoto State has forwarded names of 16 commissioner nominees to the state assembly.

The names of the nominees are contained in a letter addressed to the Speaker, Alhaji Tukur Bala, and presented to the lawmakers at the Assembly’s plenary on Thursday in Sokoto.

The governor referred to the provisions of section 192 and other relevant sections of the 1999 Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria as amended on the appointment of Commissioners.

He said the nomination of the 16 persons followed due consultations in line with relevant procedures as contained in the Public Service Regulations.

“The nomination being the first batch was following the need to constitute the state Executive Council as enshrined in the public service rules.

“This is as well as other processes as required by the law pertaining to such appointment,” Aliyu said.

The Speaker thereafter informed the members that the Assembly at a committee of Whole will screen the nominees on August 2nd and 3rd respectively.

The nominees include, Tukur Alkali, Bala Kokani, Aminu Abdullahi, Mohammed Shagari, Nasiru Aliyu, Ya’u Danda and Yusuf Maccido.

Others are, Jamilu Gosta, Bashar Umar, Dr Jabir Mai-Hulla, Balarabe Kadadi, Isa Tambagarka, Aliyu Tureta, Hadiza Shagari, Asabe Balarabe and Bello Wamakko.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *