July 18, 2024

The ruling People’s Democratic Party (PDP) in Bauchi State has won all the four disputed seats in the State House of Assembly in the Saturday’s re-run elections in Bauchi, Zungur/Galambi, Ningi, and Madara/Chinade state constituencies.

The re-run elections into the four state constituencies followed the nullification results of elections earlier held on March 18, 2023 by the State Election Petitions Tribunal and subsequently upheld by the Appellate Court, which ordered the re-run in the affected 42 polling units of 16 electoral wards in three LGAs of Bauchi, Ningi and Katagum of Bauchi State.

Immediate-past Speaker of the House and his deputy, whose elections were earlier declared inconclusive, were eventually declared winners of their respective legislative seats of Ningi and Bauchi constituencies after the rerun elections.

The immediate-past speaker scored a total of 11,785 votes while his opponent, Khalid Abdulmalik, of the APC got 10,339 votes, according to the Ningi electoral returning officer, Prof. Ahmed Abdulhameed.

Equally too, the returning officer for Bauchi state constituency, Prof. Ismaila Y. Shehu, declared the immediate-past deputy speaker of the House, Hon. Jamilu Umaru Dahiru of PDP as the winner with 45,240 votes over his APC opponent, Aliyu Abdullahi Ilelah, who got 41,266.

Meanwhile, the returning officer for Zungur/Galambi state constituency, Prof. Adamu Samaila of ATBU declared Yusuf Ahmed of PDP as a winner with 2,233 votes to defeat his closest opponent, Ibrahim Yuguda, of APC with 1,928 votes.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *