October 4, 2022

Nine members of the opposition Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) in the Kano State House of Assembly, yesterday, announced their defection to the New Nigeria Peoples Party (NNPP).

The nine defected members are among the 13 ardent followers of the Kwankwasiyya Movement in the state House of Assembly. Their defection came few weeks after the leader of the movement and two-term governor of the state, Rabiu Musa Kwankwaso, left the PDP to co-found NNPP, a new political party in the country.

Announcing the defection of the lawmakers during plenary, the Speaker of the House, Hamisu Ibrahim Chederi, disclosed that the notice of defection of the lawmakers had been forwarded to the clerk.

According to the speaker, the former PDP lawmakers cited irreconcilable leadership tussle rocking the PDP at both the state and national levels as major reason for their decision.

The affected lawmakers include former speaker of the State Assembly and member representing Gezawa Constituency, Isyaku Ali Danja; member representing Nassarawa Constituency, Umar Musa Gama and his counterpart from Ungogo Constituency, Aminu Sa’adu Ungogo.

Others are Lawan Hussain Chediyar ‘Yan Gurasa, who represents Dala Constituency; Tukur Muhammad representing Fagge Constituency; Mu’azzam El-Yakub representing Dawakin Kudu Constituency and Garba Shehu Fammar representing Kibiya Constituency.

Abubakar Uba Galadima, representing Bebeji Constituency and Mudassir Ibrahim Zawaciki from Kumbotso Constituency were also part of the defectors.

Leave a Reply

Share via
Copy link
Powered by Social Snap