June 3, 2023

President Muhammadu Buhari has approved the renewal of the term of office of the chairman, executive secretary and members of the board of trustee of the Nigeria Police Trust Fund (NPTF).

Members of the NPTF board with renewed term of office include: Barr. Suleiman Abba – chairman; Mr. Abdullahi Bala – executive secretary; A representative of the Federal Ministry responsible for: Police Matters; Justice and Finance, Budget and National Planning.

Others are Engr. Mansur Ahmed – representing the organized private sector; Dr. Michael Adebiyi representing the civil society groups; and the inspector-general of police – representing the
Nigeria Police Force. In a statement signed by the press secretary to the minister of Police Affairs, Osaigbovo Ehisienmen, it stated that the renewal is for final term of three years.

He also said the renewal of the appointment, which takes effect from 19th May, 2023, is pursuant to the NPTF (Establishment) Act, 2019, Sections 7 (3) (a) – (c) and 14 (3) (a) – (b), and the remarkable performance of the board as evident in deepening policing and internal security in Nigeria.

Recall that, President Buhari in May, 2020, approved the appointment of the chairman, executive secretary and members of the Nigeria Police Trust Fund Board of
Trustee for an initial period of three years.

Leave a Reply

Share via
Copy link
Powered by Social Snap